Third Time Lucky?

The last couple of occasions on which I’ve written an update such as this, that is literally about to set off out the door on another grand adventure, have turned out quite differently to what I’d hoped for. Perhaps I’ll fare better this time. It’s 3am on Friday the 11th of April, so I’ve missed by goal of leaving on Thursday but only by a matter of hours. I’m eating some toast and then hopping on my newly finished touring bike which has taken the last week to complete, beginning as only a frame and forks. The process of building my own bicycle has been a steep and often stressful learning curve, but seeing it now fully laden and (mostly) functioning in the knowledge that I put it all together myself is nicely gratifying. There will be a more in depth article on that soon.

The moon and clouds are playing safe in the knowledge that almost no-one’s watching. The usual background noise of engines guzzling fuel as their owners speed along without a thought for the kind of environment they’re creating, is gone, consumed by the after-hours darkness. My bike is, some would say, ridiculously overladen. My toast is up and I’m bloody hungry. Time to go!

One week since building commenced, the beast of burden is ready to roll.

One week since building commenced, the beast of burden is ready to roll.

How does my backside look?

How does my backside look?

2 thoughts on “Third Time Lucky?

Express Yourself!

